Christopher Hayes in Twilight of the Elites pointed out members of this class regard themselves as a “meritocracy,” but their merit consists of their credentials, not their achievements or their contributions to society.

Phil Ebersole's Blog

During the past 30 or 40 years, wealth in the United States has been redistributed upward.  I think this is a bad thing.  But if you ask me how I think wealth should be distributed among income groups, I don’t have a good answer.  In fact, I would rather avoid the question.

For years I thought that inequality, as such, didn’t matter.  I believed there should be a social safety net, and I favored policies to promote a high-wage, full-employment economy, but I wasn’t concerned with the size of the gap between rich and poor.  If I have all I need, and the people on the bottom rungs of the economic ladder have the necessities of life, what difference does it make how much more other people have?  If I have a house to live in, how does it hurt me if someone such as John McCain owns so many…

View original post 735 more words

